Day 21: Meditation Challenge Update

Yesterday, I slept well after my meditation. However, it was very late, almost midnight, by the time I completed my meditation & went to sleep. I had a phone call with a client so it delayed me.

Despite sleeping late, I was able to get to the gym on time. I am enjoying starting my workouts around 6 am. I am usually back home by 7:30 and start my work early.

Today, at the gym we celebrated our gym trainer’s birthday. While I practice low-carbs, the others in my gym group don’t. So, they arranged a cake. One of the girls is a home baker, so she baked a cake & quiche. Now, it was difficult for me to say no, as I am also new to this social group. After my workout, I did have a taste of both the cake & the quiche. I only had tiny pieces, but my fast was broken.

So, I came home and had my breakfast early and then had lunch. So, since 2 pm today, I haven’t eaten anything except for some fluids & butter coffee. I still find it hard to fast without some butter coffee. However, I am feeling good, no real dip in my energy levels. This is the first time I have had my last meal so early. I usually prefer to eat during the middle of the day.

My early morning predicament about whether to eat or not to eat the birthday cake made me think about all of us who want to eat the low-carb way. It is difficult when the social environment doesn’t support our choices. So, we have to be more strong to make this work.

Instead of sitting at home, I went for some shopping today in the afternoon so obviously I forgot all about food. This is a good strategy, I adopt sometimes. I plan my shopping trips on the days when I fast. I bought a new dress after a while. I don’t like to buy a lot of clothes these days as I am still working through the pile of clothes in my wardrobe.

But as I came back from shopping, I had an interesting chat with Auto Wallah who dropped me home. He told me that his son has topped the 12th boards exams and he is now studying for the IIT entrance exams. He was concerned about how he would manage the finances to support his son’s education. But he was definitely very excited about his son’s achievement.

It was really a very mixed day. Life certainly gave me variety & a lot to think about today.

Leave a comment