Day 29 & 30: Meditation Challenge Update

Today is the last day of the 30-minute meditation challenge for this month. I am really happy with the way this challenge went. I was able to consistently meditate for an hour on most days except for a couple of days when I was super tired or got delayed. On those days, I did 30 min only.

Yesterday, on day 29, I managed to complete one hour of meditation before sleeping, and today, I completed another hour of meditation in the morning.

What I have learned is that I enjoy meditating at night before sleeping. Initially, I found it hard to incorporate meditation in the morning. But as I have progressed through this month, I have found it easy to meditate in the morning also.

These are some of the benefits that I have noticed

First, it really helps me sleep better. It slows down my mind and helps me unwind from the chaos of the day. Spending some time with my thoughts in the quietness, helps me sort out the unwanted thoughts and keep the ones that are important for me. It’s almost like cleaning up my mind before sleeping. I have noticed that my sleep has become better. I didn’t really track my sleep on the app via my smartwatch, because I like to remove my watch while meditating. Mostly, I didn’t wear it after my meditation so I slept without it. Hence, it is difficult to track.

Second, I wake up refreshed. Eating low-carb has already reduced my morning lethargy. When I used to eat high-carb, I used to feel stiffness in my body upon waking up. I accidentally discovered this a few years ago, that’s how I got interested in the low-carb way of eating. I will write about it in another post, someday. So, while lethargy was not there, meditating at night before sleeping made me realize that my mind also felt rested.

Third, it has helped me reduce my tech usage. I didn’t watch Netflix or use technology for one hour before sleeping. I think this is a great way to wean away from the tech habit at night. Usually after my meditation, I don’t feel like checking my social media or watching Netflix. Even if I do, it’s for a minute or two before I am fast asleep.

Fourth, I have better focus and concentration during the day. Even during the day, I am less prone to check my social media apps than before I started this challenge. I don’t get caught up in conversations that don’t add much value to my life.

Fifth, it turns my thoughts in a positive direction. I mainly do Vipassana-style meditation, which I learned a few years ago. This month I have used a guided Vipassana meditation for an hour. Usually, when I have a break, I prefer starting with guided meditation, otherwise, I find it difficult to sit through it. Listening to the meditation tape, helps me to practice being in a non-reactive, balanced state of mind.

Sixth, I have better control over my hunger levels & am fasting with more ease. In the last month, I have felt that meditation has had an effect on balancing my hormones. As my response to stressful situations has improved, so is my response to food.

Seventh, I feel that the time has expanded. Earlier, I used to feel that there is not enough time to do anything. But now, I feel I have extra time and can do much more than before. I don’t feel a sense of urgency so much. I am more relaxed and at ease with my workload.

Eighth, I think meditation goes very well with a low-carb, time-restricted eating style I practice these days. Meditating in the morning & then going for a walk, similarly, walking & then meditating at night is a better way to begin and end your day. It allows our body to prepare for the day and end the day with a relaxed, stress-free attitude. Even when I am working till late or early in the morning, a short meditation changes my attitude toward my work and provides a good transition between bed and work.

These are a few of my observations from the monthly challenge of 30-minute meditation every day for April 24. For the next month, I want to focus on writing every day for 30 min. I do free journaling on and off. But this time, I want to do it consistently for a month as a challenge. I will write daily updates on my blog. Writing here daily has helped me track and observe my progress much better.

Leave a comment